Those Hands

1 May

I remember those hands. The moment when they lifted me into the air when I was nothing more than a piece of meat wrapped in a white cloth. Those hands, when gently caressed my forehead, declared themselves to be my guardian. Whenever I have been in trouble, those hands were ordained by God to hold me firm and not catch me irresolute and short of faith. I was carried in those hands to the shoulders and up in the air until i giggled. My giggle was the most desired sound that those hands longed for. 

As i grew stronger in my limbs and more mature in my thoughts, those hands receded just enough to let the lark of my life learn to fly away from the nest. I dont know if the lark flew or not but i can positively and affirmatively declare that those hands are of my father’s.

Leave a Reply

